28 Dec

AGS Welcomes Our New Councilors-Elect


The American Geographical Society (AGS) welcomes our new Councilors-Elect, Mx. Todd Barr, Dr. Catherine Nakalembe, and Mr. Ian Warner to our AGS Council, the governing board of the Society, which has led the organization since 1851. Some of the nation’s most prominent historical leaders have served on the Council including Henry Grinnell, Seth Low, Isaiah Bowman, Archer M. Huntington, Franklin D. Roosevelt, John Noble Wilford, and many of the leading geographers, business leaders, and political figures throughout the decades. We are glad to welcome leaders of geographical knowledge and geospatial science and technology to our leadership, to continue our mission of promoting geographic literacy, geographic thinking, geospatial innovation, and geographically informed public policy.

Read more with our Councilors-Elect 2023 Press Release.